Bob Jervis, a member of the CELSS Board, passed away on December 9, 2021. Bob was a wonderful person, a very eminent scholar, and a remarkably cohesive force at Columbia, whether in the Political Science department, or in SIPA, or in the Saltzman Institute. In our very small pond, he also played an unusually constructive role: at the very beginning of CELSS, Bob's support and smiling, wise manner helped to put into perspective and clear the institutional resistance and unexpected obstacles the young lab encountered.  We were very grateful then, and remain so, and sad, now. 


Alessandra Casella


Alessandra Casella
Departments of Economics and Political Science




Associate Directors

Mark Dean


Mark Dean
Department of Economics



Jacopo Perego


Jacopo Perego
Business School


C.E.L.S.S. Staff

Lab Manager

Jeffrey Guo


Jeffrey Guo
Department of Economics


Programming Consultants

Nithya Swaminathan


Nithya Swaminathan
Barnard College



Victoria Geh


Victoria Geh
Columbia SEAS


System Administrator

Eric Vlach


Eric Vlach
Senior System Engineer



C.E.L.S.S. Board

Donald Green, Department of Political Science
Robert Jervis, School of International and Public Affairs
Navin Kartik, Department of Economics
Stephan Meier, Business School
Matthew Connelly, ISERP and History
Thomas DiPrete, ISERP and Sociology

Affiliated Faculty

Michael Woodford, Department of Economics
Bentley MacLeod, Department of Economics
Hassan Afrouzi, Department of Economics
Homa Zarghamee, Barnard College
Sharon Harrison, Barnard College
Jacqueline Gottlieb, Department of Neuroscience
David Stark, Department of Sociology

Current Students

Guy Aridor
Lucas de Lara
Jeffrey Guo
Michelle Jiang
Victoria Mooers
Silvio Ravaioli
Krzysztof Zaremba


Zhihan Cui
Ambuj Dewan
Teresa Esteban Casanelles
Evan Friedman
Duarte Goncalves
Han Huynh
Giovanna Invernizzi
RC Xi Zhi Lim
Nathaniel Neligh
Manuel Puente
Dilip Ravindran
Luis Sanchez
Jeremy Ward